Review: The Hot Shot (Game On #4) by Kristen Callihan

29541797

synopsis

First we were friends. Then we were roommates. Now I want more…What can I say about Chess Copper? The woman is capable of bringing me to my knees. I know this about five minutes after getting naked for her.
No one is more surprised than me. The prickly photographer my team hired to shoot our annual charity calendar isn’t my usual type. She’s defense to my offense, a challenge at every turn. But when I’m with her, all the regrets and darkness goes away. She makes life fun.

I want to know Chess, be close to her. Which is a bad idea.

Chess is looking for a relationship. I’ve never given a woman more than one night. But when fate leaves Chess without a home, I step up and offer her mine. We’re roommates now. Friends without benefits. But it’s getting harder to keep our hands off each other. And the longer we live together the more I realize she’s becoming my everything.

Trick is… Now that I’ve made her believe I’m a bad bet, how do I convince her to give this player a true shot at forever?

review 4-stars

Chess and Finn first meet each other when Chess had to take nude photos of Finn’s football team in the nude for a calendar. They were not each other’s type, but both felt an indescribable pull for each other.

I thought it was hilarious that they met each other while there were a bunch of naked men parading in Chess’ studio. That would be a nice  tale to tell the kids later on. They were friends first. There was no kissing until after 50% of the book. I usually do not like that, but the author made it work. I think they both needed to be friends first. They’re both hesitant and doubtful, so the trust that they built while they were friends helped them out when they finally acted out on their feelings. Chess got to see that Finn wasn’t a good for nothing playboy, and Finn got to see that Chess wasn’t perpetually angry with the world. I especially liked the scene with one of Finn’s exes (if you could call them that idk). Chess didn’t overreact, and it showed how kind and reasonable she was. She was very mature, and if that didn’t just seal the deal for Finn I didn’t know what will.

I will check out the other books in the series. I know it’s weird, but this is the first one I read for the Game On series. Thank you Goodreads friends for convincing me to read this and for your reviews, I love you all.

GOODREADS | AMAZON

Leave a Reply

