Review: Heir of Fire (Throne of Glass #3) by Sarah J. Maas

20613470

synopsis

Celaena has survived deadly contests and shattering heartbreak―but at an unspeakable cost. Now, she must travel to a new land to confront her darkest truth . . . a truth about her heritage that could change her life―and her future―forever. Meanwhile, brutal and monstrous forces are gathering on the horizon, intent on enslaving her world. Will Celaena find the strength to not only fight her inner demons, but to take on the evil that is about to be unleashed?

The bestselling series that has captured readers all over the world reaches new heights in this sequel to the New York Times best-selling Crown of Midnight. Packed with heart-pounding action, fierce new characters, and swoon-worthy romance, this third book will enthrall readers from start to finish.

review5-stars

This book had many POVs. I usually don’t like that, because some POVs tend to bore me, and I really couldn’t care less what happens to them, but that was not the case in this book.

Chaol and Dorian’s friendship is now on shaky ground. Chaol just cannot accept that Dorian has magic and Celaena is Aelin. I don’t understand how Chaol’s mind works. He’s so confusing. His honor is so important to him, but the one he serves is far from honorable. The Chaol that I fell in love with in Crown of Midnight is gone. I don’t know what the hell happened to this guy. He’s so wishy washy. He wants to help, but he doesn’t want to stand up to anyone. He wants peace, but he doesn’t want to do anything to attain it. It’s so frustrating!

I love how Celaena is always learning throughout the books. She’s a great fighter, but that’s because she works hard for it. She always has to adjust and train in every book. She gets better and better, because she faces challenges that demands her to. I love how she works hard to be the best.

Manon’s chapters were okay for me. I didn’t really look forward to reading her story. I know a lot of people loved her chapters, but I just wanted to go back to reading about Celaena. I liked Manon’s chapters near the end of the book though, but still.

Let’s talk about Rowan now. I don’t know what to do about him. I loved Chaol in Crown of Midnight, but it looks like Celaena and Chaol will not be riding off into the sunset together. I like Rowan, he’s cool, but I don’t ship him with Celaena. It’s too early for me to ship Celaena with someone else. It may happen in the next book though, we will see .

Waiting for this series to finish was my plan, but I’m going through these books so fast, that it looks like I’m going to have to wait for the last book. Oh, the agony.

GOODREADS | AMAZON

Leave a Reply

