Review: Evil by Tijan

17190995

Screen Shot 2015-03-27 at 12.53.05 AM

You know that group of people in school that everyone fears? Popular. Beautiful. The in-crowd?
That was my family. Kind of.

We were above that group. We held court over everyone else. We were the best looking. We were the mysterious and elusive ones. Most of the girls wanted to (and did) date the guys, but they didn’t want to be one of us. They couldn’t be. They were our prey.

We were the feared.

But like every family, nothing is as it seems. That was my truth.

Kellan was in his own league. He was our leader and he was the one no one messed with. No one dared. He was ruthless, powerful, and no one could match him…

Except for me.

I was about to find out just how different I was from my family.

**Evil is a full-length paranormal romance stand-alone.

Screen Shot 2015-03-27 at 12.53.20 AM

3.5 stars

This book really held me captive. I think it’s been awhile since I’ve read a paranormal book. It’s all just been the same, and nothing has captured my attention recently. When I saw that Tijan was the author of this book, I just had to buy it and read it.

I didn’t know what to expect. The synopsis was vague, and I guess that’s what compelled me to give this a shot. This was a highly entertaining read. Something was always happening and I really enjoyed it.

It’s time to get critical. I did like this book, but I had some problems with it. You may think that I may be complaining too much about this book, and why I still gave it a four stars despite all the complaints I had with it, well it’s simple. If I enjoy a book, I’ll give it a high rating. I enjoyed this book, so it gets 3.5 stars. Okay I’m babbling again, let’s jump into it.

The following paragraphs contain spoilers. If you do not want to be spoiled, please do not continue reading.

First, the bond between Kellan and Shay. They were siblings at first, but suddenly they weren’t anymore. I didn’t feel the transition. I felt like this part was just glossed over. One minute they were siblings, the next they weren’t. I also didn’t really feel the intense love they had for each other.

Second, Shay did not question things enough. It’s like she doesn’t even care what’s happening to her. Oh, you’re not my brother, kay. Oh, I’m not a demon, kay. Oh, so my mother’s dead and my father wants to kill me, kay. Oh, you’re my soulmate but you’ve been sleeping with other girls while you knew the entire time, kay. FRUSTRATING.

Third, this complaint of mine is directed to almost all of the books that Tijan has written. There are certain information that is never explained. It’s like she expects the readers to just know and understand. Unfortunately, I don’t.

I felt like the ending was open ended. There could be a second book. Would I read it? Yes, because despite all of its flaws, it was really enjoyable.

GOODREADS | AMAZON

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

