Review: The Queen of All that Lives (The Fallen World #3) by Laura Thalassa

28448877

Screen Shot 2015-03-27 at 12.53.05 AM

She’s a martyr.
A myth.
A ghost.
A legend.
She’s my soulmate and my captive, my conscience and my wrath. I love her too much to let her die; I fear her too much to wake her from her slumber.
She’s mine.
And now she’s gone.

He’s unnatural.
Undying.
Unethical.
Unstoppable.
He’s the keeper of lies and lost souls. Mine slipped through his clutches.
I am his wife, his queen, the love of his very long life.
And soon, I will be his executioner.

Screen Shot 2015-03-27 at 12.53.20 AM5 stars

It’s been a century since Serenity has opened her eyes. She’s been in the sleeper for too long, but now she’s finally awake. Unfortunately, it’s not her husband who wakes her.

Montes goes down into the tomb he kept Serenity’s sleeper in, only to find her gone. His wife is awake, and he’s certain that he’s her main target.

I was furious with Montes. Serenity never wanted to stay in the sleeper, but he forced her into it. I understood that he loved him, but it still wasn’t right. Then he kept her in that sleeper for a century. I was afraid that his reasons were not going to satisfy me, but I was wrong. He has become even more tactical. He couldn’t control everything, but he was really close. His character is quite complex. When Serenity meets him again after a hundred years, he’s the same arrogant man, but he’s also different. He realized his mistakes, and he truly wants to rectify them, but I don’t think he regrets it. He has good in him, but he’s not entirely good.

Serenity had to endure surprise after surprise from her husband. Almost all of them were unpleasant. People now look up to her. They see her as a beacon of hope, a revolution. She was so strong. That’s what I really loved about Serenity’s character. She didn’t break down. Not even once. She was extremely angry at Montes, but she didn’t just mope around. She truly wanted to end the war, and she wanted peace. She wasn’t just going to sit around and wait fir someone else to fix everything. She was going to do it herself. Montes wasn’t a good guy, but compared to their enemies, he’s an angel.

I loved how everything was executed. The flow of the story was amazing, and the twists were well thought out. There was never a dull moment. I will miss Serenity and Montes so much. This book brought justice to the series. I’m extremely content.

GOODREADS | AMAZON

Leave a Reply

