Review: A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses #2) by Sarah J. Maas

17927395

Screen Shot 2015-03-27 at 12.53.05 AM

Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court–but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms–and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future–and the future of a world cleaved in two.

With more than a million copies sold of her beloved Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas’s masterful storytelling brings this second book in her seductive and action-packed series to new heights.

Screen Shot 2015-03-27 at 12.53.20 AM5 stars

tumblr_lze01hxn8g1qfajwj

I don’t know how I’m going to wait for the next book to come out. It comes out NEXT YEAR. It might as well be forever.

 

This review contains spoilers. I warned you. 

 

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

 

I was a Tamlin girl in ACOTAR. I thought all the readers who were rooting for Rhysand were out of their freaking minds. Could you blame me?! Rhysand wasn’t exactly the nicest. Am I mad that Sarah J. Maas changed Feyre’s love interest? Yes and no. I’m annoyed, because I really loved Tamlin. Now, even the things that I thought were sweet about Tamlin were explained as him being controlling and as proof that he didn’t really love Feyre like she loved him. That hurt. I also hated that when I read ACOTAR again, I saw that Tamlin wasn’t as good and sweet as I thought. It angered me that a character that I loved so much, turned out to not be the character that I thought he was. Maybe like Feyre, I was blinded. I ignored all his bad attributes, and covered it up with his good attributes. I’m mad, because I loved a lie. Now, the reason why the other part of me is not mad is because Rhys and Feyre were perfect for each other. Tamlin wanted to protect Feyre, but he was choking her and treating her like a pet bird that needed to be hidden and kept locked up. Rhys was very protective of Feyre, but he lets her make her own decisions. He doesn’t exclude her from things that he would deem too dangerous, and he thinks of her as his equal.

Feyre is miserable in the spring court. She pukes her guts out almost every night, because of her nightmares and her guilt. Tamlin knows, but he doesn’t do anything about it. She’s also suffocating under Tamlin’s overprotectiveness. Tamlin knows what he’s doing to her, but he doesn’t do anything to fix it. On their wedding day, Rhys pays them a visit and calls on their bargain. Feyre is then taken to the night court a week for a few months, until Tamlin does something unforgivable, and Feyre stays permanently at the night court.

I loved when Rhys took Feyre to Velaris. I wanted to live in Velaris with them. It sounded like a city I would have wanted to live in for the rest of my existence. It really was a city made of dreams. Rhys’ inner circle was awesome. Every single person in his inner circle has a place in my heart. Amren was a little scary, but I knew she cared for everyone she considered family. Mor was bubbly and super nice. Considering what was done to her, she still had it in her to be kind and lively. Cassian and Azriel were completely opposite in nature. Cassian was loud and rowdy, while Azriel was quiet and mysterious. I love the both of them so much. They made Feyre comfortable when she was trying to adjust in the night court. They’re extremely protective of everyone in their inner circle.

Chapter 54 and 55. These two chapters are going to slay your souls. I could not contain my excitement while I was reading these chapters. I thought my face was going to break in half from all of the intense smiling I did. I may have also squealed…multiple times.

I felt so kilig! You’re probably wondering what kilig means. I’ve been trying to find the exact english word for this Filipino word, but there just isn’t one. This is the definition for kilig, in case you were wondering: Kilig, when used as an adjective, refers to what a person feels when exhilarated by an exciting or romantic experience; thrilled, elated, gratified.

Learning about how much Rhys sacrificed for Velaris and his friends was heartbreaking. That back story of how he dreamt about Feyre even before meeting her, and the explanation for why Feyre painted the night sky on her dresser drawer, ahh so sweet.

bisaya2bjoke2bcrush2bkilig

When I went back to ACOTAR, I saw that Feyre really did draw the night sky on her dresser drawer. When I was reading it, I didn’t think that bit was important, so I forgot all about it. It just really confirmed that Feyre was meant to be with Rhys, and Sarah J. Maas really planned on her being with Rhys. At first I thought she just changed her mind halfway through the series, and purposely broke my heart and basically made Tamlin a bad guy, but it looks like Rhys and Feyre were her endgame couple all along.

Before I started reading this book, I knew that I was going to have to wait a year before the next one comes out. I went in knowing that. I kind of regret it, because that ending was such a cliffhanger! I’ll probably read books 1 and 2 when the third one comes out. Just to remember all the details. I will be on the look out for teasers. I’ll try to survive until next May.

GOODREADS | AMAZON

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

