Review: A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

8621462

Screen Shot 2015-03-27 at 12.53.05 AM

The monster showed up after midnight. As they do.But it isn’t the monster Conor’s been expecting. He’s been expecting the one from his nightmare, the one he’s had nearly every night since his mother started her treatments, the one with the darkness and the wind and the screaming…

This monster is something different, though. Something ancient, something wild. And it wants the most dangerous thing of all from Conor.

It wants the truth.

Screen Shot 2015-03-27 at 12.53.20 AM4 stars

This book has been recommended to me by so many people, but I’ve always been hesitant to start reading it. Everyone seemed to have loved it, and they all seem to have cried while reading it, so I was a little scared. I saw the trailer for the movie about a week ago, and I promised myself to read the book before I watched it.

To be quite honest with you, I don’t know how to review this book. But I will say that this book is so powerful, and it really evoked a lot of emotions in me. There are some truths that everyone is afraid of admitting. Truths that we want to keep hidden, even to ourselves, because those truths are just too dangerous and too bad. There will come a time when we need to accept these truths, and we need to be ready.

I recommend this to everyone. I even had my mom and sisters read it alongside me. We all just sat there and contemplated life after finishing the book. That’s how great it was.

 

GOODREADS | AMAZON

4 thoughts on “Review: A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

  1. I agree that some books are just hard to review– esp the great books! I feel like there are no words to describe such a great book. Glad you liked this book! 😊

    Like

  2. I really want to read this before seeing the movie as well! Everyone who reads it seems to fall in love with it! I’m glad you enjoyed it so much 😄

    Like

Leave a Reply

