Review: Siege and Storm (The Grisha #2) by Leigh Bardugo

14061955

Screen Shot 2015-03-27 at 12.53.05 AM

Darkness never dies.Hunted across the True Sea, haunted by the lives she took on the Fold, Alina must try to make a life with Mal in an unfamiliar land. She finds starting new is not easy while keeping her identity as the Sun Summoner a secret. She can’t outrun her past or her destiny for long.

The Darkling has emerged from the Shadow Fold with a terrifying new power and a dangerous plan that will test the very boundaries of the natural world. With the help of a notorious privateer, Alina returns to the country she abandoned, determined to fight the forces gathering against Ravka. But as her power grows, Alina slips deeper into the Darkling’s game of forbidden magic, and farther away from Mal. Somehow, she will have to choose between her country, her power, and the love she always thought would guide her–or risk losing everything to the oncoming storm.

Screen Shot 2015-03-27 at 12.53.20 AMScreen Shot 2015-03-28 at 7.15.33 PM

Not a lot of action happened in this book. I wasn’t bored, but I wasn’t engaged either. Alina had to make a lot of difficult decisions in this book. She had to please everyone and act like she had everything under control, which was hard considering all her problems. She didn’t know who she could trust, including herself.

Mal drove me crazy in this book. I wanted to throw him off a cliff. He was whiny, sulky, and annoying. I got that he felt like an outsider, unwanted, and ignored. I really got it, but he wasn’t focusing on the bigger picture. People are going to die, and Alina has to do everything that she can to save them while battling some of her own demons. She has enough problems! Mal here doesn’t seem to understand that. He’s unhappy and he wants to run away with Alina and let love take them away in paradise. I don’t think he’s thinking too far ahead, because if he was, he’d see that there will be no happily ever after with Alina if they don’t fight for their freedom. Damn Mal, get over yourself!

I don’t know how to feel about the darkling. I was intrigued by him in the first book, but then I found out how he’s not someone I’m supposed to like. I know that a lot of people are Team Darkling, but the cruel things he has done to people he’s supposed to care about is too much for me. I couldn’t forgive him.

While I enjoyed this book, it didn’t blow me away. I’m hoping that the last book will. I’m really curious as to how this trilogy will end.

GOODREADS | AMAZON 

 

Leave a Reply

