Review: Rip by Rachel Van Dyken

Screen Shot 2015-03-27 at 12.53.05 AM

Pretty things aren’t meant to be broken.
But I broke her, and now we both have to pay the price.
I’m her nightmare.
I’m her savior.
And now that I have her signature on an ironclad contract, I own her body and soul.
She doesn’t remember me.
She will.
It’s inevitable.
Because as much as I know I need to stay away, for fear of unlocking the memories I helped her father bury–I can’t.
She was the apple in the Garden, dangled in front of me, her core so tempting and sweet. A voice whispered. Just. One. Bite.
I bit.
I tasted.
I fell.
Welcome to the world of the Russian mafia, where death, is your only future.

Screen Shot 2015-03-27 at 12.53.20 AM

Screen Shot 2015-03-28 at 7.14.20 PM

I didn’t know what to expect from this book. The synopsis is vague, and I didn’t want to read the reviews for fear of spoiling myself. This held my attention from the start! I was so intrigued by everything that was happening; even though I didn’t understand what was happening.

Maya is currently working on her graduate thesis. She has wanted to meet Nikolai for quite some time now, because he is an amazing and revered doctor. She has been trying relentlessly to catch an interview with him, but he seems to never have time for interviews, until now. When she finally lands an interview with him, what happens next is not what she expected. Suddenly, he now owns her for a year, and she has to work for him without actually knowing all the details.

Nikolai is scarily amazing at erasing memories, and making people do his bidding. I had some pretty crazy theories about his clinic, but all of them were wrong. Damn, that twist really surprised me!

Sorry, but that’s really all I can say about this book without spoiling you! Just know that this was crazy good and I enjoyed it so much! Well, duh, when have I not enjoyed a Rachel Van Dyken book?

GOODREADS | AMAZON

4 thoughts on “Review: Rip by Rachel Van Dyken

Leave a Reply

