Review: Until Friday Night (The Field Party #1) by Abbi Glines

Screen Shot 2015-03-27 at 12.53.05 AMTo everyone who knows him, West Ashby has always been that guy: the cocky, popular, way-too-handsome-for-his-own-good football god who led Lawton High to the state championships. But while West may be Big Man on Campus on the outside, on the inside he’s battling the grief that comes with watching his father slowly die of cancer.

Two years ago, Maggie Carleton’s life fell apart when her father murdered her mother. And after she told the police what happened, she stopped speaking and hasn’t spoken since. Even the move to Lawton, Alabama, couldn’t draw Maggie back out. So she stayed quiet, keeping her sorrow and her fractured heart hidden away.

As West’s pain becomes too much to handle, he knows he needs to talk to someone about his father—so in the dark shadows of a post-game party, he opens up to the one girl who he knows won’t tell anyone else.

West expected that talking about his dad would bring some relief, or at least a flood of emotions he couldn’t control. But he never expected the quiet new girl to reply, to reveal a pain even deeper than his own—or for them to form a connection so strong that he couldn’t ever let her go…

Screen Shot 2015-03-27 at 12.53.20 AM

Screen Shot 2015-03-28 at 7.15.33 PM

West’s father is dying. He doesn’t tell anyone, because his father wants to keep it quiet, and West doesn’t want anyone’s pity. He’s falling apart. He has to act like everything is alright. He’s also a raging man slut. He uses girls and they use him as well. This would have been a more enjoyable read if West wasn’t such a slut. I’m getting kind of sick of all the manwhores getting the good girls. I honestly do not know guys who are like this. Especially in high school! Maybe it’s because I live in the Philippines, I mean, what do I know about high schoolers in America; but I guess I just find it hard to believe that high schoolers are this sexually active. Well I appreciated that no one called anyone a slut or a whore. Male characters who are sluts and whores love calling the girls they’ve slept with sluts and whores. It just really annoys the hell out of me.

Maggie’s been through a lot. I can’t imagine witnessing what she’s witnessed. She’s a new student at West’s high school. They first meet at a field party. That was quite a memorable first meeting for both West and Maddie. They begin to form a bond. Maggie doesn’t talk to anyone but West. I mean that literally. She really doesn’t talk to anyone else. She just stopped talking as a way of coping with what happened to her. She talks to West, because she wants to help him, and she wanted him to have something she never had. Someone who would listen and understand.

What irked me was there was not one girl who was nice in their school. Maggie didn’t acquire any new female friends. She was either alone, or she was with West. Yes, I know everyone thought she was mute, so they really didn’t know how to handle her, but not one female character in that high school was nice.

I also did not care much for Maggie’s cousin, Brady. He came off as a jerk. Boo hoo I have to actually help my cousin Maggie find her fucking classroom and locker in the school I’ve been going to for years. I also have to take her to the parties I go too, because my mom made me. I leave her all alone to fend for herself sure, but at least I brought her along with me, right? Ugh. He protects Maggie from his friends, because he knows that they’re not really boyfriend material, but that’s all he’s good for. He’s usually complaining about Maggie tagging along with him, Maggie not understanding anything, or just Maggie existing. That’s it. If the next book is about him, he’s really going to have to step it up, because I don’t like him at all. Reading other people’s reviews, make me think I’m the only one who hated him. Mmm maybe it’s just me. I dedicated a whole paragraph to him, that says a lot.

Even though this book had its flaws, it still entertained me. I just hope the next book is better. No more unnecessary whoring around and excessive complaining.

GOODREADS | AMAZON

Leave a Reply

