Review: The Wrath and the Dawn (The Wrath and the Dawn #1) by Renee Ahdieh

Screen Shot 2015-03-27 at 12.53.05 AM

A sumptuous and epically told love story inspired by A Thousand and One Nights.

Every dawn brings horror to a different family in a land ruled by a killer. Khalid, the eighteen-year-old Caliph of Khorasan, takes a new bride each night only to have her executed at sunrise. So it is a suspicious surprise when sixteen-year-old Shahrzad volunteers to marry Khalid. But she does so with a clever plan to stay alive and exact revenge on the Caliph for the murder of her best friend and countless other girls. Shazi’s wit and will, indeed, get her through to the dawn that no others have seen, but with a catch . . . she’s falling in love with the very boy who killed her dearest friend.

She discovers that the murderous boy-king is not all that he seems and neither are the deaths of so many girls. Shazi is determined to uncover the reason for the murders and to break the cycle once and for all.

Screen Shot 2015-03-27 at 12.53.20 AM

Screen Shot 2015-03-28 at 7.15.13 PM

I knew I was in for a great read from the first sentence. The prologue was enticing, and it made me want to devour the book.

KhalidΒ murdersΒ all his wives come dawn.

Sharhzad volunteers to marry him, and plans to murder him to avenge her best friend.

It was supposed to be easy, because he’s evil, he’s a monster, he’s a murderer.

Nothing is ever easy.

At first I thought of Khalid as a cold, unfeeling, and dull person. He didn’t speak much, and he didn’t do much either. I began to understand his character as I read more. This guy had a ton of problems. I felt sorry for him.

Sharhzad was very conflicted. She wanted to retain the hate she had for Khalid, but it was impossible. Sharhzad was very brave, and she was sarcastic. I loved that about her. One thing I didn’t like was sometimes she acted like a petulant child. If you tell Sharhzad not to do something, she’ll do it just because you told her not to.

I really loved Jalal and Despina! Jalal was funny and he was extremely loyal. Despina didn’t take shit from Sharhzad. I felt like she was the only one who could really influence Sharhzad’s decisions. She was the greatest friend and companion anyone could ever ask for.

You know what guys, I really feel bad for Tariq. Everyone seems to dislike him, but I really don’t. I pity him.

The second book will be epic. I just know it. I feel like this book is just paving the way for more; more magic, more action, just more everything. I really hate waiting.

GOODREADSΒ | AMAZON

32 thoughts on “Review: The Wrath and the Dawn (The Wrath and the Dawn #1) by Renee Ahdieh

    • I get you. That happens to me a lot. I just stop for a few hours and try to read it again. Better yet, read another book then get back to it! I hope you like it when you try again πŸ™‚

      Like

  1. Yay you like it!! I am so happy as I love the romance in this one haha. Though I did think Shazi’s change of heart came a wee bit too quick!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’M SO GLAD YOU LIKED THIS! Khalid is life. Didn’t the ending break you??? I THOUGHT THEY WOULD BE TOGETHER HUHUHUH But I hate it cause it’s all the dad of Shazi. huhuhuhuh. And the title and the excerpt of The Rose and the Dagger!!!! The excerpt. AHHHHHHHHHHH.

    Like

      • I didn’t want Khalid to give up!! THIS CANNOT BE THE END. HUHUHUHU. What do you think it means? I was like I’m happy it’s a duology so I don’t have to wait 2 years for the happy ending but at the same time, I know I’d want to prolong their story so I can be with them as long as I can!!! The struggle is real.

        Like

      • It could mean a number of things! Things that do not make me happy. I want their story to be longer, but I’m really glad it’s a duology. I wouldn’t be able to take it if there was a third book. That would be cruel.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

