Review: The Kiss of Deception (The Remnant Chronicles #1) by Mary E. Pearson


Screen Shot 2015-03-27 at 12.53.05 AMA princess must find her place in a reborn world.

She flees on her wedding day.

She steals ancient documents from the Chancellor’s secret collection.

She is pursued by bounty hunters sent by her own father.

She is Princess Lia, seventeen, First Daughter of the House of Morrighan.

The Kingdom of Morrighan is steeped in tradition and the stories of a bygone world, but some traditions Lia can’t abide. Like having to marry someone she’s never met to secure a political alliance.

Fed up and ready for a new life, Lia flees to a distant village on the morning of her wedding. She settles in among the common folk, intrigued when two mysterious and handsome strangers arrive—and unaware that one is the jilted prince and the other an assassin sent to kill her. Deceptions swirl and Lia finds herself on the brink of unlocking perilous secrets—secrets that may unravel her world—even as she feels herself falling in love.

Screen Shot 2015-03-27 at 12.53.20 AM

Screen Shot 2015-03-28 at 7.15.33 PM

Lia escapes from a future she doesn’t want, on her wedding day. She and her friend Pauline travel and find a place to stay and hopefully permanently. Lia and Pauline finally settled in a small village after days of travelling. The real fun starts when two mysterious and very different men show up and show an interest in her.

What I really loved about this book was the mystery of the identities of the two men. One of them is the assassin and the other is the prince. This book was told in multiple POVs, and we don’t know who is who. I found that to be really exciting, and I admired the author’s skill.

Was there a love triangle? In my opinion, there wasn’t. It was clear to me who Lia really loved.

I must say that I found this book to be extremely slow paced. I felt like nothing was really happening. The story was just telling the day by day happenings in Lia’s life. I had to stop reading this book at about the 80% mark, because I just felt disinterested in the story. I picked this book up again about a few months later. Yes, MONTHS. I finally finished this, and I’m glad I decided to stop when I did, because I feel like I appreciated this book more when I started reading it again.

GOODREADS | AMAZON

19 thoughts on “Review: The Kiss of Deception (The Remnant Chronicles #1) by Mary E. Pearson

  1. That’s a shame the book is slow paced as otherwise I like the sound of it. I’ll still be interested to check it out due to all the buzz surrounding the sequel’s release. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Amazing review, Aira! 🙂 Yes, I really thought the love triangle here is heavy, just like what I keep hearing from reviews. Well… Now I remember JLA’s White Hot Kiss, it was also clear who the female lead loves. Hehehe… 🙂

    Like

  3. I’ve been seeing this book around! The synopsis sounds good. I can’t believe you can do that like stop for months and then continue! I feel like I’d forget what I read and have to start over again. lol Slow paced books are good I think when it comes to world building like Daughter of Smoke and Bone. Have you read that? But definitely not if they just keep talking about mundane things… We need action people! ALSO, I see that your reading Wrath!! OMG. Im so happy. I just finished reading it and I’m in an intense book hangover. It was sooo good! Hope you like it and we definitely need to fangirl after!!! Your blog is beautiful, btw. 🙂

    Like

    • I hate not finishing books! I can’t take it! It takes a little refreshing before I remember everything haha. I own the entire trilogy, but I haven’t started yet. I don’t know why. I really want to start it, but other books just keep getting in the way. The Kiss of Deception definitely lacked action.
      I’m only at Chapter 5, but I’m liking it so far! I really hope I can fangirl with you on this one. Thank you so much! Your blog is beautiful as well! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • I know right! I can’t even think about me not finishing a book. I’d just end up really guilty and like super curious at what would happen next. I seriously don’t think I can take it!
        You should def start reading Daughter of Smoke and Bone! As I’ve said, the story is kind of slow paced because of the world building but trust me its worth it. Especially when you meet Akiva!!! *heart eyes*
        OMG. OMG. YES PLEASE! KHAAAAAAAAAALID *heart eyes times amillion* Do get back to me when you’re done with Wrath. A fangirl is in order!!!! 🙂 Thank you so much, Aira! 🙂

        Like

  4. I felt it was slow paced too, it took me months to finally read it, but then when I picked it up the second time was when things finally started happening and I couldn’t put it down after. I don’t know whose side I’m on, I think I’m rooting for the assassin actually, I guessed wrong as to who they were so I thought the assassin was actually the prince, but I still love him, but I think when you say it’s clear who she loves, your referring to the actual prince lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

