Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses #1) by Sarah J. Maas

 
 A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore. 

 
When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.
 
As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.
 
Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Okay it’s official. This is my most favorite book in this genre. I loved it so much; you guys cannot even imagine how much. I know it took a long time for me to finish it, but I had a good reason. I just didn’t want it to end, so I read and savored it as long as possible!
 
This is a beauty and the beast retelling mixed with fae folklore.  I know it sounds weird, but it totally works!
You know that feeling you get when you start reading a book and you just know that you’re going to love it, care for it, and cherish it forever and ever. This book was exactly that for me. I started reading and I knew, I knew it was going to be the best thing ever.
 
I started reading and I got that feeling immediately.
 
 
Feyre is the youngest out of three sisters. Her two older sisters are completely useless, and her father is stuck in his own misery. She has to take care of all of them. She hunts, she cooks, well she basically does everything. One day she hunts in the forest and kills a wolf. This was not an ordinary wolf, so her killing the wolf had some consequences. 
 
When Tamlin was first introduced 
 
 
He was so awkward and it was just so cute! He may have come off as cold and distant, but he just wanted to treat Feyre right, and he didn’t know how to do that exactly. He was never cruel and I just loved him so much. I really have to stop gushing about him. 
 
Lucien was an interesting character. He was rude and mean to Feyre, but I never hated him. He had his reasons. I just wish he would have given her a break, I mean come on. 
 
Then we meet Rhysand. There are some Rhys-Feyre shippers, and I’m sorry but were we reading the same book?! Oh my gosh how could you guys even for one second think that he and Feyre should be together?! I liked him okay, I liked him and he needs a book and he deserves love. But he just needs to get that love from someone else okay?! 
 
 
Feyre’s character development was believable, and I’m glad that I loved her character more as the book progressed. At about the 75% mark, that’s when things started to really really excite me. Before the 75% percent mark, my excitement level was at 90%, but when I got to it, it was 100% and then some. The things that occurred at this point were just so bad-ass, exciting, heartbreaking, adrenaline rushing (is this even a term?), and just plain awesome. 
 
 
I will stop here before I accidentally spoil everyone because of my unconfined excitement. 
 
I think I did a great job convincing everyone to read this. 
 
Advertisements

7 thoughts on “Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses #1) by Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s